Eight Chapters

Participants in Streetwise Opera’s online sessions have co-created The Deer: A Story in 8 Chapters, a digital mini-opera directed by Emma Bernard.

The project had them work with vocal leader Aga Serugo-Lugo and eight composers: Charlotte HardingDominic HarlanJessie Maryon DaviesJohn BarberMichael Henry, Pete Letanka, Ben See and Esmeralda Conde Ruiz.

The project took inspiration from Streetwise Opera’s A Gallery For All, an online gallery of artwork created by people affected by homelessness during the COVID-19 pandemic.  Director Emma Bernard, who has worked with Streetwise Opera in the past on The Answer to Everything (2013), Fables (2010), My Secret Heart (2008) and Critical Mass (2007) said: “It’s really exciting to have the opportunity to reinvent how we can work together in a digital world.”